DGAEP Ministry of Finance and Public Administration


Portugal is located at the extreme southwest of Europe and includes the archipelagos of Madeira and Azores in the Atlantic Ocean, with an area of 92,225 Km2 and a population of about 10,4 million persons.

Portugal is one of the oldest nations in Europe with eight centuries of History that started in 1143, when D. Afonso Henriques declared independency in Guimarães from the kingdoms of León and Castile.

The Portuguese Republic is a democratic State based upon the rule of law, the sovereignty of the people, plural democratic expression and political organisation, respect for and the guarantee of the effective implementation of fundamental rights and freedoms and the  separation and interdependence of powers, all with a view to achieving economic, social and cultural democracy and deepening participatory democracy.  

Portugal is a unitary State that is structured and functions under the rule of the self-governing system of the islands and the subsidiarity principles, the autonomy of local authorities and the democratic decentralisation of the public service. The Azores and Madeira archipelagos form autonomous regions with their own political and administrative statutes and self-government institutions. 

The central government system, often described as semi-presidential, is based on three political organs: the President of the Republic, the Parliament  and the Government. The Courts are also sovereign organs, and their formation, composition and competency areas are laid out in the Constitution.

The government is, in accordance with the Portuguese Constitution, the supreme organ of Public Administration. In Portugal, Public Administration is divided in the following three administration levels:

  • Direct State Administration
  • Indirect State Administration
  • Autonomous Administration (Regional Administration, Local Administration, Public Associations)

The Directorate-General for Administration and Public Employment (DGAEP) is a cross-sectional service of Direct State Administration and is part of the Ministry of Finance.



Font size A|A|A
Useful Links
acessibilidades D

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!

Desenvolvido por: GISMÉDIA